Squash Christening

Someone who saw the picture of my first-ever, home-grown squash asked me what I was planning to do with it. I jokingly replied ‘perhaps I’ll frame it’.

Then yesterday I went shopping for photo-frames for other photographs – of non-vegetable subjects – and came across the coasters in a charity shop. They weren’t right for my intended purpose but I did have a new table that needs protecting (feels wrong to put your glass on the faces of family and friends). So I bought the coasters with the vague notion that I’d find something appropriate to insert. It wasn’t till I got home that the squash picture came to mind.

I’ve decided on squash as a suitable label for what it is that I’ve grown. I don’t suppose it matters. A vegetable by any other name will still taste as good.

Leave a Reply

