Happy Birthday Edward Lear

Last week it was an elephant-god, this week it’s a feline-and-fowl-trip.

I woke up to them talking about one of Lear’s best-known rhymes on the radio this morning, The Owl and The Pussycat, in celebration of Edward Lear’s 200th birthday.  Unlike with most kids’ books, when I read this story to a child they tend to get bored of it before I do.

A fond, early childhood memory I have is of going to see a stage version of it somewhere.  I went with some other children from my school and we appeared on tv after to review it.  I guess that was my 15 mins of fame.  I peaked early.

Leave a Reply

