Grainy Green Desk Top

Being more republican than royalist, I made no plans to attend any street parties this long bank holiday weekend.  But I do quite like the idea of a mega-pageant on the Thames.  Thanks to a combination of grey and wet weather and not being a big fan of large, flag-waving crowds, I’ll be watching it on tv.

After that there are two possibilities for the rest of the day, either allotment or furniture restoration.  There’s so much to do at the allotment at the moment, that is what I should be doing.  But I’m also half way through the furniture restoration and am looking forward to finishing it off.  I can do that under cover.  Given the weather, I’ll probably go for that option.

The furniture project came about as someone was throwing out an old chest of drawers which looked like it had potential.  I liked the idea of a doing a distressed paint finish so I first practised on an old pine desk I had.  Here’s a slide show of the desk job…

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The final picture doesn’t do it justice as it was before being waxed.  But I did the waxing in a hurry and forgot to take a picture, so that’ll have to do for now.

Chest of drawers to follow.

2 responses to “Grainy Green Desk Top

  1. your table is wicked well done. I dont think the weather is going to get any better as the weekend goes on so your better off staying in the dry and doing your thing on your furniture. Good luck

Leave a Reply

