Max’s Birthday Carrot Cake

I’m not much of a cake baker.  Apart from what they got us to make in cookery lessons at school (or ‘domestic science’ as they called it) I haven’t baked very much at all.

We’re celebrating my nephew Max’s first birthday today and I agreed to make a carrot cake.  It’s my first ever.  It’s also the first time I’ve ever iced a cake.  It wasn’t as difficult as I expected it to be.  There will be other cakes besides mine, so if it is inedible, it won’t be a disaster.  At least it looks cheerful.

We’re also celebrating my father’s 84th, so lots of cause for celebration.

Here’s a picture of what I made.

How-to-slideshow and recipe below.

Leave a Reply

