The Birds & the Bees of Courgettes

Someone explained the difference between male and female courgette flowers to me the other day. Apparently, males are pointy and females more rounded. I thought I understood but when I went to have a look they all looked much the same. Like this.

Now that I’ve been seeing lots of the pointy male ones the difference is plain to see.

 

 

Another lesson learnt this week is how fragile the fruit is. Here’s a picture of what would have grown into my first courgette had I not snapped it off prematurely 😦

Leave a Reply

