End of Potatoes, Beginning of Courgettes

The first  potato plant at the allotment to get blight got cut down and harvested last month.  The other seven also got it but all I did was chop the plants back and left that corner of the plot to its own devices while I focused on other things.  When I finally got round to what I thought would be the simple job of digging up the potatoes, I found there was much more than that to be done.  Besides harvesting them and feeling pleased that they were still ok, I realised the set-up had to be changed.

I’d originally planned to surround the two grow bags with bottles thinking it would help the soil to retain moisture but all it did was provide a breeding ground for slugs (don’t zoom in on the bucket!)  So besides removing the bottles, I also pulled the two containers apart before planting two courgette plants to replace the pulled potatoes.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

