No Purple Fruit

This is usually the time of year I make wine from the grapes growing in my garden.  Like the plums at the allotment, the grapes have also been stolen but this time I know who the culprit is.  Or rather who they are.  They look like this (left).  Except the ones in my garden are a lot fatter.

Other birds have also been tucking in but the wood pigeons have had the lion’s share.  And they really have scoffed the lot.  Other years they’ve had a good go, but there have always been enough left for me to use.

So this will be the first time in six years that there will be no production of my West London Château Margaux.  Hopefully it’s only a temporary blip.  I’m planning to get busy with fruit cage building in time for next year’s harvest.

Leave a Reply

