Living Lettuce

It’s now common to be able to buy live herbs like parsley, basil and thyme in pots with your regular food shopping, but I haven’t come across living lettuce before.

03

This tray of red and green baby leaf lettuce currently lives on the kitchen table near the window.  I’ve been happily munching on its leaves, it’s a great accompaniment to higher calorie, less nutritional food.

If I was properly organised I’d grow some from seed in a pot myself at a fraction of the cost.  Until I get round to doing that though,  it’s good to have the easy option of shop-bought, freshly picked salad to go with a plastic, microwaved meal.

Leave a Reply

