Quick Turkey, Chili & Coriander Soup

Turkey meat isn’t something I often have in my shopping basket.  It was in there this Christmas though, on its way to becoming part of a turkey and leek pie.  The turkey one turned out much tastier than the chicken and asparagus alternative.

So when I passed some diced turkey on my way to the chicken section of my local supermarket, instead of continuing on to the regular poultry I bought some more of the Christmas bird instead.

And rather than use a recipe and planned ingredients, I used what I happened to have in the fridge.  Here’s what I made.

P1020735#

Ingredients

Butter, dash of olive oil
Small Onion, finely chopped
Garlic, 3 small cloves, crushed
Streaky bacon, 2 rashers, chopped
Turkey, 250g, diced
Salt, pepper & chili powder
White wine
Vegetable/chicken stock
Leeks
Celery
Brussels Sprouts
Cauliflower
Small-sized pasta, 100g
Fresh coriander
Parmesan cheese

Method

Fry the onions, garlic, bacon and turkey in butter with a bit of olive oil.  Season, add wine, then reduce. Add the chopped leeks, brussels sprouts, and cauliflower and turn up the heat.  After a few minutes of cooking, stirring all the while, add the stock, bring it to the boil, then turn down the heat and let it simmer for about 10/15 minutes before turning up the heat again and adding the pasta.  The variety I used (tiny conchiglie) needed eight minutes of boiling, so I then simmered it for a further eight minutes before turning off the heat.

Garnish with plenty of fresh coriander and serve with a sprinkle with parmesan cheese.

Feeds four people as a starter.

(Turkey and pasta weights are an estimate, forgot to weigh them at the time.)

Leave a Reply

