Radical Vine

IMAG2176 (771x1024) IMAG2177 (1024x771) IMAG2183 (771x1024) IMAG2184 (771x1024)

6 responses to “Radical Vine

    • Hi Giovanni,

      Thanks for the pictures you sent me, your vine looks like it’s thriving! It does look a lot like the Triomphe d’Alsace in my garden. It’s exactly the same colour, but with much bigger grapes. But then that could just be the result of better Mediterranean weather.

      The original vine was from a cutting I got from someone else. The one in the picture I rooted after breaking off a healthy branch by mistake last May. I didn’t want to just throw it away so I put it in water and forgot all about it for a few weeks. Then when I next looked the roots were well-formed and it was ready for planting. It’s now happily growing in the garden.

      You mention in your message with the pictures you sent that the wine you make has a slight strawberry flavour. The wine I make is fruity, but it’s more of a blackberry/raspberry taste than strawberry, and has a very deep red tint.

      Thanks again for your interest.

      With best wishes,
      Maggie

  1. Dear Maggie,

    thank you for your kind message and all the useful information about your beauty vine. I have to say that also in my case the flavour of that wine could be described as fruity and that probably strawberry is not the only note I can feel drinking our wine. Our vine is about 30 years old: I planted it in our garden when I was a child after taking it from an abandoned orchard. For the first time, this year we made wine from its grape (we obtained rosΓ¨ not deep red wine unfortunely) , without fermenting must on skins. I have the concern that hybrid grapes (such as Triomphe of Alsace) could give significant quantities of methanol when must is allowed to ferment with wild yeast in the presence of skins. However, I don’t have any data on methanol levels in Triomphe’s wine and, on the other hand, I admit that I am very curious to see how it would taste when produced as you made. May be I will try next year! Regarding the size of bunches, yes, it could depend on climate, soil, age of plant et.c. The only doubt on the identification of my grape concers the ripening period. It was enough sweet only few weeks ago (around 15 october). I guess that the same grape would ripe earlier here under our mediterranean climate conditions than in England. When, exactly, do you pick it?

    Finally, in my opinion it is very interesting that you were able to obtain a new plant simply by leaving a branch in the water for few weeks! It seems a very cheap way to propagate this wonderful kind of plants. I will try to do the same. Maggie, your blog is really beautiful and interesting. It is very relaxing for me to give a look to it after a long working day πŸ™‚ Thank you again and warm greetings from Italy,
    Giovanni

  2. Thank you Giovanni for your kind words about my blog – pleased to hear that it makes for a relaxing read πŸ™‚

    I usually harvest the grapes around mid September, and the wine is then ready for bottling in December.

    It seems to be quite an easy vine to grow in the UK as new ones frequently sprout up in the soil where seeds have fallen without me needing to do anything. But rather than have nothing but a forest of vines growing I usually repot them and give them away. There are now many Triomphe d’Alsace vines growing all over West London!

    Good to hear that you’ve given a home to the neglected vine you found in the abandoned Orchard all those years ago. Do let me know if you manage to have the variety confirmed, it would be interesting to hear if it is the same as mine.

    Kind regards,
    Maggie

    • Dear Maggie,

      it is really nice for me to conclude my day reading about our discussions on Triomphe d’Alsace, thank you again! I am a chemist working in a laboratory here in Italy and caring plants is for me a wonderful way to escape the routine of my workinglife. To the best of my knowledge, the only way to ascertain if my vine belongs to the same variety of yours or not is to do a DNA analysis. Interesting the fact that you could obtain new vines from seeds. Are they productive? Technically they are not identical to the mother (they are not clones such as the rooted branch that is genetically identical to the mother vine), in other words you are obtaining new varieties related but not exactly equal to Triomphe d’Alsace, you could call one of them (the best producer may be) Triomphe of West London πŸ˜‰ I will also try to have new vines by seeds, so I will have my Triomphes too. In the meantime I am enjoying our good wine during dinners with my relatives, cheers!

      Kind regards,

      Giovanni

Leave a Reply

